## OFFICE OF THE STATE ELECTION COMMISSION TRIPURA : AGARTALA.

No.F. 2(6) -SEC/MUNC/GEN-ELEC/2015 6174 Dated 5th November, 2015

## PRESS NOTE

Subject: - Schedule for General Election to Municipalities & Bye-election to Panchavats -2015.

The term of office of the present Municipalities in Tripura will expire in the normal course on 21<sup>st</sup> December, 2015. In terms of the legal provisions, the process of General Election to Municipalities for constitution of new Municipalities is required to be completed before the date of expiration of the present Municipalities.

2. The State Election Commissioner, Tripura after taking into account all relevant factors has finalized the schedule for holding General Election to Municipalities and also for holding Bye-election to Panchayats to fill up Casual Vacancies.

**3.** The Schedule of General Election to Municipalities and Bye-election to Panchayats is indicated below:

## SCHEDULE

SI. No.	Events	Date	
1.	Date of issue of Notification by State Election Commission	12.11.2015 (Thursday)	
2	Last date for making nomination	19.11.2015 (Thursday)	
3	Date for the scrutiny of nominations	20.11.2015 (Friday)	
4	Last date for the withdrawal of candidatures	23.11.2015 (Monday) up to 3.00 P.M	
5	Date on which Poll shall, if necessary, be taken	09.12.2015 (Wednesday)	
6	Date of Counting of Votes	12.12.2015 (Saturday)	
7	Date before which the process of Election shall be completed	15.12.2015 (Tuesday)	
8	Hours for commencement and close of Poll	7.00 AM to 5.00 PM	
9	Commencement of counting of votes	8.00 AM	

4. District Municipal Election Officer: The District Magistrate & Collectors of all 8(eight) Districts of the State have been appointed as District Municipal Election Officers to co-ordinate and supervise all works in the District and in the area within his jurisdiction in connection with preparation of Electoral Rolls and Conduct of Elections to the Municipalities as provided under rule 11 of the Tripura Municipalities (Conduct of Election) Rules, 1995. The D.M & Collectors of 7 District (except Dhalai ) also appointed as District Election Officer in connection with Bye-election to Panchayats.

5. Nominations : The period of filling nominations papers to the Returning Officer concerned will be from 12.11.2015 from 11.00 A.M to 3.00 PM except on holidays declared under N.I Act.

6. Electoral Authority (AE) & Returning Officer (RO): The Sub-Divisional Magistrates of 18 (eighteen) Sub-Divisions namely Sadar, Jirania, Khowai, Teliamura, Mohanpur, Bishalgarh, Sonamura, Udaipur, Amarpur, Santirbazar, Belonia, Sabroom, Dharmangar ,Panisagar, Kumarghat, Kailashar, Kamalpur, Ambassa Sub-Division have been appointed as Electoral Authority for preparation of Electoral Rolls of the Municipalities constituencies and also Returning Officers for conduct of election. For Bye-election, concerned BDOs are appointed as Returning Officer.

**7. Electoral Rolls:** As per rule, the Electoral Rolls of all 20 Municipalities have been prepared by segregating the Assembly Electoral Rolls now in force in the State and revised with reference to 01.01.2015 as the qualifying date, as relates to the area comprised within the Municipalities. The Electoral Rolls of the Municipalities & Bye-election of Panchayats have been finally published on 4<sup>th</sup> November, 2015. The total number of electors of all 20 Municipalities & for Bye-election of Panchayats as per finally published Electoral Rolls are indicated below:

Fo	or Municipalities	For By	For Bye-election to Panchayats	
Male	269214 Nos.	Male	11890 Nos	
Female	268754 Nos.	Female	11079 Nos.	
Total	537968 Nos.	Total	22969 Nos	

8. **Polling Stations:** The list of Polling Stations have been finalized. Total number of Polling Stations for all 20 Municipalities are 676 and for Bye-election to Panchayats are 54 Nos.

District wise breakup is indicated below:					
i)	North District	2 Municipalities	44 Polling Stations.		
ii)	Unakoti District	2 Municipalities	31 Polling Stations.		
iii)	Dhalai District	2 Municipalities	24 Polling Stations.		
iv)	Khowai District	2 Municipalities	31 Polling Stations.		
V)	West District	4 Municipalities	426 Polling Stations.		
∨i)	Sepahijala District	3 Municipalities	40 Polling Stations.		
vii)	Gomati District	2 Municipalities	41 Polling Stations.		
viii)	South District	3 Municipalities	39 Polling Stations.		
Total:	8(eight) District	20 Municipalities	676 Polling Stations.		

**9. EVM and Ballot Papers:** Electronic Voting Machine and Ballot Papers white in colour will be used for taking poll for Municipalities. Bungo & Godrej type Ballot Boxes will be used for bye-election of Panchayat. Ballot paper white in colour for Gram Panchayats Seats, pink in colour for Panchayat Samiti seat and Green in colour for Zilla Parishad seat will be used for taking Poll of Bye-election to Panchayats.

**10. Counting of Votes:** Counting of Votes for Municipalities will be done at Sub-Divisional Head Quarters like earlier occasion. Counting will take place at **8.00 a.m. on 12<sup>th</sup> December, 2015** and will continue till completion.

**11. Meeting with political parties:** During the exercise for preparation of Electoral Rolls and finalization of the list of Polling Stations and on various points relating to conduct of Municipal Election & Bye-election to Panchayats , the State Election Commissioner, the DMEOS( DM & Collectors ) , AEs(SDMs) & BDOs held meetings with the representatives of all recognized National and State political parties.

**12.** Law and Order: The State Election Commissioner, Tripura held a meeting with the Police Authorities and Administrative Authorities on 30.10. 2015 and discussed about Law and Order situation of the State and requirement of Police forces. The Police Authorities will assess the requirement of Police forces and make appropriate arrangements with the available resources for smooth and peaceful conduct for Municipal Election in the State.

13. Model Code of Conduct: Consequent on the announcement of the schedule for the General Election to Municipalities through this **Press Note**, the Model Code of Conduct for guidance of political parties and candidates comes into operation with immediate effect in the **Municipalities areas only and in the Panchayat area where Bye-election will be held**. This will be applicable to all political parties and to the State Government. The State Election Commissioner, Tripura calls upon all the political parties, candidates and the State Government to strictly adhere to the Model Code of Conduct. This is necessary to ensure free and fair poll in the State.

**14.** The State Election Commissioner, Tripura is confident that the political parties, the candidates, electors and the entire election machinery will fully appreciate the need for needful restraint and discipline to ensure free, fair and peaceful election.

**15.** The State Election Commissioner, Tripura recognizes and acknowledges the role of media in the successful conduct of elections. The State Election Commissioner looks forward for their total support and feedback that could help for successful conduct of election.