OFFICE OF THE STATE ELECTION COMMISSION TRIPURA: AGARTALA.

No. F. 2(1) -SEC/VC/GEN-ELEC/2015-16 / 1344(A)

Dated 27th January, 2016.

PRESS NOTE

Subject: - Schedule for General Election to TTAAD Village Committee -2016.

The term of office of the present Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Village Committee will expire in the normal course on 8th March, 2016. In terms of the legal provisions, the process of General Election for constitution a new Village Committee is required to be completed before the date of expiration of the present body of Village Committee.

- 2. The State Election Commissioner, Tripura, after taking into account all relevant factors, has finalized the schedule for holding General Election to TTAAD Village Committee- 2016.
- 3. The Schedule of Election is indicated below:

SCHEDULE

| Sl. No. | Events | Date |
|---------|--|---|
| 1. | Date of issue of notification by the State Election Commission | 29th January,2016 |
| 2. | Last date for making nomination | 5 th February, 2016 |
| 3. | Date for the scrutiny of nominations | 6 th February,2016 |
| 4. | Last date of the withdrawal of candidatures | 8 th February,2016 Up to 3PM. |
| 5. | Date on which Poll shall, if necessary, be taken | 24th February,2016 |
| 6. | Time of Nomination to be filled. | From 11 AM to 3 PM |
| 7. | Hours for commencement and close of Poll | From 8AM to 4 PM |
| 8. | Date of commencement counting of votes | 27th February, 2016 |
| 9. | Date before which the process of Election shall be completed. | 7 th March, 2016 |

- **4. Date & Time of Nominations to be filled:** The period of filling nomination papers to the Returning Officer concerned will be from 29th January,2016 to 5th February,2016 except on holidays declared under N.I. Act, between the hour 11AM and 3 PM.
- **5. District Election Officer:** The District Magistrate & Collectors of all 8(eight) Districts of the State have been appointed as District Election Officers to co-ordinate and supervise all works in the District and in the area within his jurisdiction in connection with preparation of Electoral Rolls and Conduct of Elections to the TTAAD Village Committee as provided under rule 4 of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Village Committee (Conduct of Election) Rules, 1996.

- 6. Electoral Registration Officer (ERO) & Returning Officer (RO): The Block Development Officers of 52 (Fifty Two) Blocks namely Jampui Hill, Dasda, Laljuri, Kalachara, Jubarajnagar, Damchara, Panisagar, Gournagar, Chandipur, Kumarghat, Pecharthal, Ambassa, Ganganagar, Chawmanu, Manu, Raishyabari, Dumburnagar, Durgachowmuhni, Salema, Tulashikhar, Padmabil, Kalyanpur, Teliamura, Mungiakami, Hezamara, Lefunga, Dukli, Old Agartala, Jirania, Belbari, Mandai, Boxanagar, Kathalia, Nalchar, Mohanbhog, Charilam, Jampuijala, Amarpur, Ompinagar, Killa, Matabari, Kakraban, Silachari, Karbook, Bokafa, Jolaibari, Rajnagar, BC Nagar, Hrishyamukh, Rupaichari, Satchand, Poangbari Blocks have been appointed as Electoral Registration Officer (ERO) for preparation of Electoral Rolls and also Returning Officers for conduct of election.
- 7. **Electoral Rolls:** As per rule, the Electoral Rolls of all 2634 Village Committee constituencies have been prepared by segregating the Assembly Electoral Rolls now in force in the State with reference to 01.01.2016 as the qualifying date & published finally on 05-01-2016 as relates to the area comprised within the TTAAD Village Committee constituencies. The Electoral Rolls of the Village Committee constituencies have been published finally on 27th January, 2016. The total number of electors of all 2634 constituencies as per finally published Electoral Rolls are indicated below:

Male :- 3,89,292 <u>Female :- 3,79,112</u> Total :- 7,68,404

8. Polling Stations: The list of Polling Stations have been finalized. Total number of Polling Stations for all TTAAD Village Committee constituencies are 1451 including 15 Auxiliary Polling Station.

District wise breakup is indicated below:

| i) | North District | 60 Nos. of Village Committee | 160 Polling Stations. | |
|--------------------------|---------------------|--|-----------------------|--|
| ii) | Unakoti District | 32 Nos. of Village Committee | 92 Polling Stations. | |
| iii) | Dhalai District | 110 Nos. of Village Committee | 296 Polling Stations. | |
| iv) | Khowai District | 69 Nos. of Village Committee | 155 Polling Stations. | |
| v) - | West District | 85 Nos. of Village Committee | 198 Polling Stations. | |
| vi) | Sepahijala District | 58 Nos. of Village Committee | 141 Polling Stations. | |
| vii) | Gomati District | 103 Nos. of Village Committee | 243 Polling Stations. | |
| viii) | South District | 70 Nos. of Village Committee | 166 Polling Stations. | |
| Total: 8(eight) District | | 587 Nos. of Village Committee 1451 Polling Stations. | | |

- 9. Number of Village Committee: Total number of village Committees are 587 with 2634 constituencies. Total number of seats are 4597. Out of total 4597 seats, 4018 seats reserved for ST, 180 for SC and 399 Unreserved. Total 2005 seats are reserved for women.
- 10 Ballot Box: Bungo & Godrej type Ballot Boxes will be used for taking Poll for TTAAD Village Committee election, 2016
- 11. Counting of Votes: Counting of Votes for TTAAD Village Committee will commence from
 8. 00 a.m. on 27th February, 2016 and will continue till completion.

- 12. Meeting with political parties: During the exercise for preparation of Electoral Rolls and finalization of the list of Polling Stations on various points relating to conduct of Village Committee Election, the State Election Commissioner, Tripura, the DEOs(DM & Collectors) and EROs/ROs(BDOs) held meetings with the representatives of all recognized National and State political parties.
- 13. Law and Order: The State Election Commissioner, Tripura, held a meeting with the Police Authorities and Administrative Authorities on 13.01. 2016 and discussed about Law and Order situation of the State and requirement of Police forces. The Police Authorities will assess the requirement of Police forces and make appropriate arrangements with the available resources for smooth and peaceful conduct for Village Committee election in the State.
- 14. Model Code of Conduct: Consequent on the announcement of the schedule for the General Election to Village Committee through this <u>Press Note</u>, the Model Code of Conduct for guidance of political parties and candidates comes into operation with immediate effect in the <u>TTAAD Village Committee areas only where election will be held</u>. This will be applicable to all political parties and to the State Government. The State Election Commissioner, Tripura calls upon all the political parties, candidates and the State Government to strictly adhere to the Model Code of Conduct, which is a unique document, evolved with the consensus of all political parties in the Country. This is necessary to ensure free and fair poll in the State.
- **15.** The State Election Commissioner, Tripura, is confident that the political parties, the candidates, electors and the entire election machinery will fully appreciate the need for needful restraint and discipline to ensure free, fair and peaceful election.
- **16.** The State Election Commissioner, Tripura, recognizes and acknowledges the role of media in the successful conduct of elections. The State Election Commissioner looks forward for their total support and feedback that could help for successful conduct of election.